The Passover Test

Two of the five diners ate bread. The remaining three did not, but we looked longingly at the rapidly diminishing breadbasket and the little bowl of olive oil with rosemary and crushed garlic. . The bread-eaters, one Jewish, one not, tried but failed to tempt us. I felt virtuous. Six breadless days to go. Understand this: I am French. I believe this is the first time since I was weaned that I have gone a day, much less three, without bread.

For the past year or so, I’ve been learning about being Jewish, which I probably am through my mother, but that’s a story for another time. Arielle is my teacher, and we have celebrated a number of holidays. On Monday, it was Passover, so I found Passover matzah, a much more difficult chore than anticipated, and Arielle recited (but did not chant, as I understand she should have) the Four Questions.

How is this night different from all others nights:

  1. On all nights we need not dip even once, and on this night we dip twice!
  2. On all nights we eat leavened bread or matzah, and on this night, only matzah!
  3. On all nights we eat various vegetables, and on this night, bitter herbs!
  4. On all nights we eat sitting upright or reclining, and on this night we all recline!

To me, this is one query with four answers, but I won’t question tradition. It’s easy to see that Passover is a remembrance, a commemoration of harder times, of difficult pasts and better presents. I appreciate the significance of the question and the answers, the then and now aspect of the celebration. I studied comparative religion many decades ago and came to understand the importance of customs, of songs and prayers and family rites. Since I no longer have family, this is something I’ve missed and welcome when they’re offered.

I like the concept of dipping twice, and of reclining during a meal, both signs of ease and comfort, though reclining hardly makes for pleasant meals. The bitter herbs, though, remind me not so much of poverty as of purging, and I wonder if perhaps there is something to that. The matzah is self-explanatory. Unleavened food is poor people food.

I‘ve barely scratched the surface, but I’m an eager student.

About epiphanettes

Writer, songcrafter, possibly the best French pedal steel guitarist in Virginia.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment